-Everless By Sara Holland: US Cover VS. UK Cover-

ever

Which cover do you like more? The US cover (left) or the UK cover (right)? 

What’s It All About? 

New York Times bestseller!

“Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.” —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel’s breathtaking action, incredible romance, and dangerous secrets. Plus don’t miss the thrilling sequel, Evermore!

Read A Sample on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2Dg0Wvd

Share This:

-Tell Me Three Things By Julie Buxbaum-

tell-me

LOOOOVE realistic fiction. I don’t read enough of it! Just added this to my 6,376 mile long list of books I want to read.

What’s It All About?

With the perfect mix of comedy and tragedy, love and loss, and pain and elation, the characters in Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things come to feel like old friends who make any day better. This YA novel is sure to appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son, and to start at a new school where she knows no one.

Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

tell-me-thr

Read a Sample on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2ArP0nZ

Share This:

-Shadow and Bone & Six of Crows Ordered By NETFLIX!-

six1

Eric Heisserer, the man who adapted the novel Bird Box into a screenplay for Netflix, will be turning Leigh Bardugo’s ‘Shadow and Bone‘ & ‘Six of Crows‘ into an eight-episode drama series for Netflix. He’s going to merge characters, concepts, and all that jazz from each series into ONE awesome sauce experience. 

Basically, the two books are set in the same world but with different characters. Basically, Heisserer is going to put them in a blender and make a Shadow Crow Cocktail.

Netflix describes the merged books as: “In a world cleaved in two by a massive barrier of perpetual darkness, where unnatural creatures feast on human flesh, a young soldier uncovers a power that might finally unite her country. But as she struggles to hone her power, dangerous forces plot against her. Thugs, thieves, assassins and saints are at war now, and it will take more than magic to survive.”

Haven’t read either series? No Worries! Check them out and read a sample on Amazon. 

Share This:

-Dude. I’m almost 30. And why does no one say dude anymore?-

“Check on your 1989 friends, they’re turning 30 this year.”

Freshman year of high school, my History teacher busted ass in the cafeteria. Her lunch tray flew in the air and splattered anyone within a 5ft radius. Once we got back in the classroom, someone said to her, “OMG HOW EMBERRASING LOLZ” (Back then, all LOLing was done with a ‘Z’ at the end.)

She responded, “No, I’m at the age where things like that don’t embarrass me”.

THIS. STUCK. WITH. ME.

Like, there’s an age where embarrassment goes away?! She seemed ancient to me at the time, so of course I was like ‘dear god I have to wait until I’m 60 for this lovely trait to kick in’. In retrospect, she was probably 30 or something.

I turn 30 this year, y’all! And I am here to tell you that she is right… Sort of.

You will eventually stop caring what people think of you. If you bust your face in front of a group of people, it won’t matter. Honestly, you’ll probably forget about it by the end of the day unless you bruised something.

For the life of me, I can’t think of any publicly embarrassing stories as an example. I guess there was that one time a tampon got stuck *up there*, and I yanked so hard It ended up smacking me in the forehead, leaving a tampon shaped silhouette. But that was in a bathroom stall so no one caught that gem of a moment. Darn. But if it had, I would’ve laughed instead of cried. BECAUSE I AM ALMOST 30, BITCH, AND I DON’T CARE NO MO!

Another perk of getting older?

I know that I like stretchy nylon/spandex no-show underwear and not cotton. I know ‘relaxing baths’ are not actually relaxing to me. I know what foods I like, what drinks I like, and being on top while having sex.

I’m wiser and healthier. I know who I am and what I want. I can afford an Uber if I get hammered on a Tuesday. I’m all growed up, y’all.

Maybe now my parents will actually take me seriously and realize I’m not a teenage idiot. HA! Who am I kidding?

So no need to check on us, guys. We are doing better than fine.

Share This:

-Read Before You See: Under The Dome By Stephen King-

To Read: 

Share This:

-The Dinner List By Rebecca Serle-

dinner

What’s It All About?

💛A very unique read filled with whimsy and love 💛.

“We’ve been waiting for an hour.” That’s what Audrey says. She states it with a little bit of an edge, her words just bordering on cursive. That’s the thing I think first. Not: Audrey Hepburn is at my birthday dinner, but Audrey Hepburn is annoyed.”

At one point or another, we’ve all been asked to name five people, living or dead, with whom we’d like to have dinner. Why do we choose the people we do? And what if that dinner was to actually happen? These are the questions Rebecca Serle contends with in her utterly captivating novel, THE DINNER LIST, a story imbued with the same delightful magical realism as One Day, and the life-changing romance of Me Before You.

When Sabrina arrives at her thirtieth birthday dinner she finds at the table not just her best friend, but also three significant people from her past, and well, Audrey Hepburn. As the appetizers are served, wine poured, and dinner table conversation begins, it becomes clear that there’s a reason these six people have been gathered together.

Delicious but never indulgent, sweet with just the right amount of bitter, THE DINNER LIST is a romance for our times. Bon appetit.

To Read: https://amzn.to/2CH4BBE

Share This:

-Mayor Turner’s LGBTQ Advisory Board is at Eleanor K. Freed Montrose Library-

-Drag Queen Story Time

PROUD OF MY CITY!

Image may contain: 7 people, people standing and outdoor

Image may contain: 4 people, people standing, tree, child, shoes and outdoor

Share This:

-Bird Box Is Based On A Book By Josh Malerman-

bird-box-tie-in-cover-lined-ftw-399x600

What’s It All About? 

Written with the narrative tension of The Road and the exquisite terror of classic Stephen King, Bird Boxis a propulsive, edge-of-your-seat horror thriller, set in an apocalyptic near-future world—a masterpiece of suspense from the brilliantly imaginative Josh Malerman.

Something is out there . . .

Something terrifying that must not be seen. One glimpse and a person is driven to deadly violence. No one knows what it is or where it came from.

Five years after it began, a handful of scattered survivors remain, including Malorie and her two young children. Living in an abandoned house near the river, she has dreamed of fleeing to a place where they might be safe. Now, that the boy and girl are four, it is time to go. But the journey ahead will be terrifying: twenty miles downriver in a rowboat—blindfolded—with nothing to rely on but her wits and the children’s trained ears. One wrong choice and they will die. And something is following them. But is it man, animal, or monster?

Engulfed in darkness, surrounded by sounds both familiar and frightening, Malorie embarks on a harrowing odyssey—a trip that takes her into an unseen world and back into the past, to the companions who once saved her. Under the guidance of the stalwart Tom, a motely group of strangers banded together against the unseen terror, creating order from the chaos. But when supplies ran low, they were forced to venture outside—and confront the ultimate question: in a world gone mad, who can really be trusted?

Interweaving past and present, Josh Malerman’s breathtaking debut is a horrific and gripping snapshot of a world unraveled that will have you racing to the final page.

Read Me: https://amzn.to/2rVNDcR


Share This:

-Payback By Kristin Harte-

payback

Another super awesome author I met at The Origin Event. A vigilante justice story by @ellis_and_kristin 😍. 

Follow Me On Instagram:  Candace Reads Books

What’s It All About? 

A quick **small town romantic suspense** read 😍. Written by Author Ellis Leigh under her alter ego 😉.

In a town called Justice, there’s nothing to fear except a man willing to break all the rules for the woman he craves.

As a former Green Beret, I know how to follow orders and obey rules. I’ve learned to be patient, to look at a situation from every angle, and to live by a code of honor most men know nothing about. But when a motorcycle club puts a target on not just my hometown but the five-foot-nothing blonde who unknowingly holds my heart in her hands, obeying the law takes a back seat to keeping my woman safe. I’ve never had something so precious to protect, and I’ve never been willing to cross so many lines to get a job done.

My need to destroy those who threaten Shye could cost me my home, my freedom, and my life…but I’d sacrifice it all to save her.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2RehJX5

Share This:

-Read It Before You See It: Where’d You Go, Bernadette? By Maria Semple-

To Read: https://amzn.to/2Sc3uiT

Share This: