-From Book to Movie: The Goldfinch By Donna Tart-

 

Share This:

-A Letter From Sarah Dessen About ‘The Rest of The Story’-

No photo description available.

-Sarah’s Letter-

Since childhood, I’ve spent part of every summer with my extended family on Cape Cod. We are all related either directly or so distantly we can’t even bother to trace it—and then we just call each other cousin. Every summer, when we go, I have to be ready with my news.

You know the drill: you see your family once a year and they want the latest. To save time, you compile a list of what’s been going on with you. I’m in my second year of college! I just started a job! I’m getting married! And so on. You have to repeat the lines so often, to so many people, that you get it down to a tight paragraph.

When I started The Rest of the Story, I knew I wanted it to be a novel about family and home. The ones we know well, and those we may not know at all. Since her mom’s death, Emma Saylor has spent most of her life with her dad and grandmother. But when she’s sent to the lake to stay with her mother’s family for the first time, an entire other world opens up to her. Right away, she’s asked for her “five sentences,” a lake tradition. In that moment, she thinks: Who am I right now? It’s both exhilarating and terrifying. But she has to answer.

Over the years, I feel like I’ve had a million sentences—always changing depending on where I am in my life. I want to be a writer. Well, I dropped out of college. I fell in love! I’m having a baby. Every sentence is a new chapter. We are all our own story, and only you can tell yours—one paragraph or handful of sentences at a time.

So for now: I’m Sarah. I’m from North Carolina. I have a husband and a great kid. I live with lots of lizards. I’m addicted to Cheez-It Double Cheese snack mix. And I really, really hope you enjoy this book.

What are your five sentences? If we ever meet, remind me to ask you.

Happy reading!
Sarah

Share This:

-Supernatural Academy by Jaymin Eve-

Image may contain: one or more people and textGenre: Paranormal Romance

What’s It All About?

Maddison James is about to discover some truths about the world.

Firstly … supernaturals exist.
WTF?

Secondly … she is one, even though no one seems to know exactly what kind.
Double WTF.

Thirdly … she’s about to go back to school.
Well, things just got a little more interesting.

The Supernatural Academy is where shifters, vampires, magic users, and fey are educated. Where they are taught about their abilities, and how to function in the human world. Maddison already has the human part down, but this supernatural thing is an entirely new dangerous game.

Example one: mean girls who can actually turn you into a frog.

Example two: Asher Locke, a god at the Academy. Not literally … well, who knows for sure. He certainly acts the part, as do all of his minions who worship him.

Asher drives her crazy, because apparently gorgeous and arrogant is her thing. Sparks fly between them, and the more they’re thrown together, the more Asher is determined to figure out what’s been blocking her abilities.

Until the moment the truth is revealed, and they find out nothing in this supernatural world is what they thought.

Including each other.

Read a Sample: https://amzn.to/2wk7WTf

Share This:

-Semi-Review: The Mermaid Finds Her Voice In This One By Amanda Lovelace-

Image may contain: text

I love love loved ‘The Princess Saves Herself In This One,’ but I did not particularly like ‘The Witches Don’t Burn In This One.’

BUT, I am falling fast and hard in love with Amanda’s latest. I love modern/relevant poetry. It’s definitely a lost art that’s making a comeback.

Buy on Amazon for 8 dollars! 

Image may contain: text

Share This:

-Book to Movie: His Dark Materials By Phillip Pulman-

Share This:

-Excerpt: Things I Tell My Therapist By Amy Wright, AKA The Drunk Mom-

the-drunk-mom-instaWhat’s It All About? 

Amy’s last book, ‘Becoming the Drunk Mom- The Book’ is described as; 

“Moms aren’t supposed to swear like truckers or talk about how hard day to day life as a parent is… Or that maybe sometimes (only every once in awhile?) their kids are, in fact, @ssholes. But I do!

If you haven’t read my story of teen pregnancy, abuse, depression and learning to live a perfectly imperfect life that I’ve built a comedic following around, it’s free right now!

It’s my story of imperfection, chasing dreams and giving zero f!&@$.”


This time around, Amy will be covering, well, things she tells her therapist. LOL!

If you follow her on Facebook (The Drunk Mom), It’ll be insta-love. Through her witty and blunt banter, she says all the things we wish we could say to, crunchy moms, children, PTA’s, your husband, perverts, internet warriors, and so many more.

But most importantly, she’s giving advice about important topics, using her past as a road guide. She’s been through it, y’all: depression, suicide attempt, an abusive relationship, and a teen pregnancy.

What makes Amy truly special, is while she is helping others, she uses laughter and lots of curse words. Because laughter and cussing are  truly the best medicine.

She’s just so damn relatable. It’s sickening.

READ AN EXCERPT OF ‘THINGS I TELL MY THERAPIST’ HERE! 

Share This:

-Featured Book: This Savage Song-

See the source imageWhat’s It All About?

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

 

 

 

Share This:

-Bookish Mother’s Day Card!-

No photo description available.

My tiniest muggle-child got me the most fitting #mothersday card. The mother is reading ‘How to be a Mom-trenpreneur’ and the daughter is reading ‘How to be a Boss Babe.’ A) She hit the nail on the head because #books – duh. B ) I love that she recognizes motherhood does not define every part of a woman. And I REALLY love that our society is finally accepting that WOMEN WORK and are slowing their roll with the mom-shaming for having a career. We are more than birth-givers, diaper changers, and taxi cabs. Bish, I’m everything.

Share This:

-Bookstagram: The Cruel Prince-

Image may contain: one or more people and closeup

Thoughts so far:

  • Beautiful Imagery
  • WTH is the plot?
  • Oh. A girl with Daddy issues (same, girl, same), who wants to be accepted (no, girl. no).
  • So. Many. Characters. WITH weird names. I need a cheat sheet.
  • Still not sure of the plot…
  • I really love this quote: “Only idiots aren’t scared of things that are scary.”

Share This:

-A Book Like Mean Girls & The Excorcist: The Merciless By Danielle Vega-

Image may contain: plant

What’s It All About?

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.

Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.

Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn—but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can’t go against the other girls…unless she wants to be next.

By the shockingly twisted end, readers will be faced with the most haunting question of all: Is there evil in all of us?

 

Share This: