-Book to Movie, The Silence By Tim Lebbon! Check Out The Trailer!-


Share This:

-Beautiful Books: Puffin in Bloom Collection ON SALE-

puffin

My only complaint? I need more! They’re so gorgeous on my shelf with their vibrant colors and gorgeous design. AND, they are not unabridged. It’s the full story, yo. 

Share This:

-Popular Books That Almost Had Different Titles-

changed-titles

AUTHORS DON’T ALWAYS CHOOSE THEIR TITLES.

OFTEN TIMES, A PUBLISHER WILL DISLIKE THE TITLE AN AUTHOR HAS GIVEN THE NOVEL, AND CHANGE IT.

TYPICALLY BECAUSE THE PUBLISHER BELIEVES IT WONT ‘MARKET WELL’.

I had never thought of this until I saw Jennifer Armentrout speaking about it (and got her permission to list the title names), the first four are her ‘almost titles’. 

-See All The Titles Here-

Share This:

-Bookstagram of Dear Mrs. Bird By AJ Pearce-

Image may contain: table

I haven’t read this book, but a friend sent it to me and I can already tell I’m going to love it! She said it’s being compared to Lilac Girls 😍.

📚What’s It All About?📚

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.
Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding, she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman’s Friend magazine.
Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. .
.
Amazonhttps://amzn.to/2YfKvr1

 

Share This:

-Super Cool Book Shelf-

Image may contain: indoor

I asked my followers on Candace Reads Books to help me find this shelf, and THEY DID!

Sadly, it is custom built by Lisa Ramirez

BUT, my amazing niece found a similar version on Amazon!

Share This:

-Random Writing Tips By Stephen King-

Image may contain: 1 person, eyeglasses and text

Random writing tips from the King for ‘Wordy Wednesday’!

This quote has stuck with me! We often accept bad behavior because the person is “not all bad.”

Guess what? You can donate to charity and still be a douche canoe🛶. Remember that while writing 😉.

Share This:

-This or That? Princesses Behaving Badly By Linda Rodriguez McRobbie-

Image may contain: 2 people

What’s It All About? 

You think you know her story. You’ve read the Brothers Grimm, you’ve watched the Disney cartoons, and you cheered as these virtuous women lived happily ever after. But real princesses didn’t always get happy endings. Sure, plenty were graceful and benevolent leaders, but just as many were ruthless in their quest for power, and all of them had skeletons rattling in their majestic closets. Princess Stephanie von Hohenlohe was a Nazi spy. Empress Elisabeth of the Austro-Hungarian Empire slept wearing a mask of raw veal. Princess Olga of Kiev slaughtered her way to sainthood. And Princess Lakshmibai waged war on the battlefield with her toddler strapped to her back.

https://amzn.to/2U4ofky

 

Share This:

-Karen Moning on Book Pirating-

“Warning: rant ahead 🙂

I just got an email from a fan and, while I know she was trying to be complimentary, that made her email frustrate me even more, because she didn’t see anything wrong with it.

She wrote to tell me my books were so good—while she only downloads books she can’t wait to read on the day of release for ‘free’ from online sites—she liked some of mine so much that once she read the entire series, she ‘actually paid for hard copies of her three favorites.’

She went on to say the reason she never pays for books but downloads them for ‘free’ (sorry let’s be precise here, they’re not free, they’re pirated and kill our sales, which can lead to cancelled contracts) was because there were a lot of books she ended up not liking as much as she thought she would, and didn’t feel obligated to pay for a book she wouldn’t want to read a second time.

Can I please go eat a pizza but pay for it only if I like it? Can I get a haircut and highlights but pay only if I think it’s good enough that I’ll want to use that stylist again? Can I go to the doctor but if he doesn’t make me better, ignore the bill?

Writers make a small percentage of the (much larger) percentage the publisher takes, after the online retailers take their (again much larger) percentage of the list price. The books that sometimes take up to a year to write are our sole source of income.

Books at pirate sites aren’t free. They’re stolen. If money is tight, go to your local library. Support them. Keep them afloat (Yes, I know there’s often a waiting list and instant gratification is preferable to patience.) One day those libraries may no longer exist if books continue to get any more ‘free.’

To those of you that don’t pirate THANK YOU! You’re the reason I can continue getting my books published and that means the world to me. :)”


This was posted to Facebook. 99% of the comments were in agreeance with moning, including myself.

And then you had people like this: 

Just no.

Share This:

-Harry Potter Cake-

Share This:

-Storm and Fury By Jennifer Armentrout-

No photo description available.

Received this b-e-a-utiful ARC of #stormandfury byJennifer L. Armentrout . 

SO- this is a spin-off of my favorite series of hers, The Dark Element Series (think hot gargoyles and a bad ass heroine.) If you haven’t read the first book in The Dark Element Series, White Hot Kiss, you need to.

📚What’s White Hot Kiss About?📚

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal—fit in at school, and go out on a real date with the gorgeous Zayne, whom she’s crushed on since forever. Trouble is, Zayne treats Layla like a sister—and Layla is anything but normal. She’s half demon, half gargoyle, with abilities no one else possesses. And even though Zayne is a Warden, part of the race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe, Layla’s kiss will kill anything with a soul—including him.
Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know her secrets. Though Layla knows she should stay away, it’s tough when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue. Trusting Roth could ruin her chances with Zayne—and brand her a traitor to the Warden family that raised her. But as Layla discovers she’s the sole reason for a violent demon uprising, kissing the enemy suddenly pales in comparison to the looming end of the world.
Amazonhttps://amzn.to/2OdQY15
—————————————————
If you HAVE read White Hot Kiss, jump over to#goodreads and see what Storm & Fury is all about 🖤 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40291564
—————————————-
Scarf is from Out of Print
Fingerless gloves are from Storiarts
My two fave places to shop!

Share This: