Sookie Stackhouse 1-13


Series: Sookie Stackhouse 1-13
Author: Charlaine Harris
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Rating: 4-star

My Review in a Nutshell:

For the sake of my sanity, I am rolling all THIRTEEN Sookie Stackhouse books into one review. The fact that I read all thirteen of them should be proof enough of my love for the vampire series, but I never pass up a chance to gush about an awesome reading experience. So here goes!

What’s It All About?

In a nutshell containing thirteen books: Sookie Stackhouse is a telepathic cock-tail waitress at the local bar in a “sneeze and you’ll miss it” Louisiana town. Small towns do not take well to unique people; Sookie was labeled an outcast very early on due to her mind reading ability. But, the world is changing, vampires have come out of the shadows and are now living among the humans. Sookie is sucked into the not-so-secret society when she begins dating a vampire, and with that, comes a slew of new problems for her already difficult life.

My Thoughts?

Charlaine Harris creates an intriguing world for paranormal lovers, with southern Louisiana quirks, and oodles of romance, the sky is the limit. I love seeing how authors put their own unique twist on paranormal creatures being a part of our society. A vampire could be your local Wal-mart cashier! Not really, most of them are uber rich, they’ve had quite a while to save. But what makes this series come to life is Sookie, she’s the type of girl you want to be BFF’s with. She’s sweet, spunky, fierce if need be, but also naïve, and SUPER busy solving murders, digging up secrets that lead to epic plot twists, all while managing a very busy love life!

But what made me come back for THIRTEEN books!? (I have to capitalize THIRTEEN). Each book brought a new vibe and plot line, which ultimately all tied together for a delectable climax. The small town life and charming characters is alluring to me, even the not so charming small town ass holes. Each book can be read in a matter of days, I thought it would take me FOREVER to get through, but I was done in about three weeks!!

There’s action, adventure, dramedy, love and MAGIC in this ever-evolving series. And lots and lots of casseroles, it is the South, after all. Dive in and watch Sookie the outcast grow into a woman learning to stand on her own two feet, it is wonderful to read, and a hell of alotta fun.

*Warning: be prepared to read in a southern accent, which apparently isn’t far off from what I actually sound like. I’ve been in denial.

you may also like…

succubus-blues beautiful-creatures wicked

Share This: